top of page

10 Lessons I Learned from Traveling

Although traveling is a fun experience to participate in, like most experiences in my life, I also take away a few lessons. Some of which can also apply to everyday life.

Hello and welcome back to Lion Weekly with Rebekah Lion (me)! If you haven’t already, make sure you subscribe to Lion Weekly and check back every Friday for updates. Also, don’t forget to like, comment, and share on all social platforms


"Travel is the BEST teacher in life." - Unknown



10. Food Taste Different

This is a very underrated lesson that I unfortunately had to learn the hard way. For all the young happy go lucky people who have never been overseas REMEMBER, "just because it looks the same DOES NOT mean it taste the same".

While I was in Dubai, I had a very strong craving for some chocolate. At the time my favorite candy bar was Snickers, so I bought a Snickers Bar from the hotel store. Let me tell you, I was in for a rude awakening. I am not saying that the candy was nasty, because it wasn't, but I am American and I assume that the sugar to candy ratio was not the same as in the States.

9. Be on Time to Tours

There is nothing people hate more than that one person that is always late. Although you may think it is completely harmless, you are ultimately an ambassador for your country when you travel. People only know what they see and hear. Ultimately you are making yourself look bad as well as your home country. Although one may not think about the outcomes of being late to a tour there are many outcome:

  • Your tour guide could ultimately forfeit other tours to complete yours (less money from tips)

  • You could be charged a late fee (less money to spend on shopping)

  • The guide could cut the tour short in order to stay on schedule (you don't see everything the city has to offer)

  • They may not even take you on the tour at all (you're out of money and still don't get to see the city)

Although I have never experienced this, it can happen and before you book tours it is important to read the fine print and/or ask questions.

8. Television is not Always Correct

There have been many instances where I have gone somewhere and I expected one experience and got the complete opposite even in my home country.

While I was in the Middle East, I was expecting to see a lot of people that were Muslim and dressed as a traditional Muslim. However, that was not the case. Not only did I see a lot of people who dressed like western country, I also saw a great deal of Christian Workshop buildings. Both of which shocked my teenage brain. The only religion I associated with the Middle East was Islam due to what I had seen on TV. I also assumed that all females had to dress conservatively. However, there were many women that wore shorter skirts and dresses then I was expecting.

Overall I would say to go into a country with no expectations that way you are not weirding people out with your staring.

7. People are Willing to Help

If you have a dad and brother like mine then you know the pain of them never asking for help and thinking they know everything, even when they don't. So, I have usually take over when we travel because I am not afraid to admit that I don't know where I am and ask for help. While traveling with the two of them I have noticed that people are very helpful when asking for directions or where to eat as long as you know how to approach them (everyone can not be approached the same way).

6. Be Open to Trying New Foods (Get the Name of Food you Like)

Anyone who knows me, knows that I do not like to try new foods. This is something that I had to force myself out of when I started to travel. My thought process is try two new things a day. So if I have choice between Church's Chicken (Texas Chicken), which I don't even eat here in America, and an authentic dish, I am more than likely going to pick the authentic dish.

I will also say to REMEMBER to get the names of food you liked. I can distinctly remember about 5 months after coming home I suddenly craved a dish I had tried while in Dubai and I could not, for the life of me, recall the name of the dish. I will say that this disappointment in myself has always reminded me to make a note of the names of dishes I like.

5. Laws can be Different

As I mentioned in my 5 Questions to Ask Yourself Before Leaving the Country post, although most countries have similar laws, it is important to know the basic laws of the country you'll be visiting so that you don't accidently do something illegal.

4. Try Putting your Foreign Language Skills to Work

While in high school and college I took French. I am not fluent, but I know enough to get around. I am not confident in my French speaking abilities so I tend to shy away, but I would recommend talking to people you KNOW speak the language you are learning while traveling if they are WILLING to talk to you.

3. Take Pictures and Videos Even if You Don't Want too

I will be the first to admit that I do not like taking pictures however, as I have gotten older, memories have become very important to me and pictures and videos are a great way to capture those memories. As time goes on and you form new memories you will start to forget the smaller moments: the pretty sunset, the clear blue water, the amazing landscape, and the beautiful art. All of these are small details that will be forgotten within a years time if not documented.

2. Leave Your Comfort Zone

I am an introvert so it is harder for me to do things that I am not comfortable with, for example going up to someone that is speaking French and asking them to talk to me in French is nerve wracking. However, I had the opportunity to do so, and I missed out on it simply because I did not want to get out of my comfort zone. Also make sure that you are willing to try new adventures such as one-day cruises, out of city tours, and visiting the local markets.

1. Learning is the Main Goal

The overall lesson I learned was that traveling is to help you learning about the different countries and how they came about. Through traveling I was able to learn about countries that I would have never been taught in school. Learning the history of the country/city you visit will also help you have better understanding of the people and or traditions of the area. Having fun while traveling is important, but learning the history about the places you visit should be just as important. Because you will ultimately become the "expert", on the places you visit and knowing the history is just as important as knowing what the food taste like.

Always remember you are the #RulerofYourThoughts!

bottom of page