top of page

Music Can Shape Your View On The World

Some people only see music as a thing they listen to when they're bored or trying to party. Others use music as a way to express themselves and tell others. However, there is a small group of people that use music to make a statement about life and shape how others see it.

Express yourself however you want. No one can tell you how you should do you!


“Just because one person doesn't understand, doesn't mean you're wrong!" - Unknown

Music Is Expression


Music can allow you to express your sadness, happiness, and/ or anger. Music can allow you to be your own hype man. Although music can let you express yourself it can also bring about discussion and shape the way you view the world around you.

While listening to 2Pac's Dopefiend's Diner, with my cousin and dad this past weekend, my dad informed my cousin and I that 2Pac's version was not the original. A woman named Suzanne Vega had a song called Tom's Diner that was made in 1987. The two songs sound almost identical, they both have the same beat and word flow. However, 2Pac's version has a sad tone. It makes you feel like you're walking down a badly lit street during a cold winter night, looking at the old withering plants around you. To be honest with you, the first time I listened to it, I cried like a baby who missed their mother. I remember just sitting in my room and thinking about what he was saying. Wondering, what I would do if I was in the shoes of each person in the song, including 2Pac. However, Suzanne's version has a very happy and cheerful tone. I felt like I was walking through a park on a beautiful summer day with birds singing and a nice breeze while looking at all the beautiful shades of green on the trees and plants. While others were around me laughing and having a good time.

After listening to 2Pac's version and then Suzanne Vega's version, we began to talk about the difference in the two songs and why (we believed) the two songs were so different. The working theory was that one had the freedom to talk about how they beautiful the world was and all the good they saw around them. A view that a lot of people have today. Forgetting to think about what others maybe going through because they simply don't think about it. While the other was trying to tell and show the world that just because you're doing fine and everything is okay for you, doesn't mean that everything is okay for everyone else.

I personal think that Suzanne Vega and 2Pac where trying to express how they saw the world on any given day. However, their given day was completely different. After listening to both versions, what are your thoughts?

bottom of page